< Back to All News

High school journalism awards announced

Eastside Preparatory High School in East Palo Alto took top honors in the 2001-2002 Peninsula High School Journalism Awards Competition sponsored by

the Peninsula Press Club and Hillsdale Shopping Center.

Eastside, advised by teacher Angela Buenning, won 10 awards including first-place in the General Excellence category. Capuchino High School in San

Bruno and Mills High School in Millbrae each took six awards.

Sports Photo:
Honorable Mention: Aaron Gandhi, Capuchino
2. Joanna Leon, Eastside
1. Elizabeth Elias, Eastside

Feature Photo:
HM. Chris Eden, Capuchino
2. Marissa McGee, Eastside
1. Elizabeth Elias, Eastside

News Photo:
HM. Elizabeth Elias, Eastside
2. Chris Eden, Capuchino
1. Jonathan Gonzalez, Eastside

News story:
HM. Joanna Katz, Mills
2. Joanna Katz, Mills
1. Monica Lee, Mills

Sports story:
HM. Victoria Soldavini, Mills
2. Andrew Titmus, Hillsdale
1. Marissa McGee, Eastside

HM. Meghan Brown, Mills
2. Jonathan McEvoy, Hillsdale
1. Dima Tishyevich, Mills

HM. Angelique Burton, Eastside
2. Aaron Gandhi, Capuchino
1. Diana Nenchev, Hillsdale

Layout and design:
HM: The Stampede, Capuchino
2: Burlingame B, Burlingame
1. The Eastside Panther, Eastside

General Excellence:
HM: The Stampede, Capuchino
2. Hillsdale Scroll, Hillsdale
1. Eastside Panther, Eastside

< Back to All News