< Back to All News

May 2003 Press Club board minutes

Minutes of Peninsula Press Club Board of Directors meeting of May 15, 2003, at the Kingfish Restaurant in San Mateo.

In attendance were: Jack Russell, John Kane, John Horgan, Ed Remitz and Jon Mays. Dave Price and Aimee Lewis arrived late. Darryl Compton dropped off materials but had to travel to San Francisco. President John Kane called the meeting to order at 6:25 p.m.

Minutes of the April 1, 2003, meeting were approved, 5-0. There was no treasurer’s report due to the absence of Michelle Carter.

Aimee Lewis provided an update on the May 30 awards banquet. A dinner menu was chosen. Jack Rusell said 10 individuals were interviewed for scholarships. Four students were winners. Russell said, “It was an excellent group.” The winners will be announced May 30. Russell also gave a report on the club’s high school journalism contest. Ten schools and more than 200 entries were involved.

It was agreed to meet on the second Wednesday of each month at 6:15 p.m. at the Kingfish Restaurant. Dave Price provided a brief report on the club’s Web site. John Horgan indicated that the Internal Revenue Service has laid claim to all of the San Francisco Press Club’s assets. That club is essentially dead, he said, adding that he plans to attend a future meeting of that body when it votes to disband.

Price said he will give a report on another meeting of the Bench, Bar, Media group at a future meeting. Jon Mays gave a brief report on the possibility of club members obtaining insurance through the group. He said such a move would be “problematic.” There was a discussion of internships that focused on practices at individual publications.

Kane handed out entries in a college journalism contest which will be judged by club members. The deadline for submitting the judged entries to Kane is May 23. A decision on a slate of club officers for 2003-04 was deferred. So was a discussion about a potential club name change.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:16 p.m. The next meeting will be held at 6:15 p.m. June 11 at the Kingfish Restaurant.

Minutes submitted by John Horgan, secretary.

< Back to All News