< Back to All News

February 2005 Press Club board minutes

Minutes of the Peninsula Press Club Board of Directors meeting on Feb. 9, 2005 at the San Mateo Daily News.

Meeting commenced at 6:20 p.m.

Directors present: Micki Carter, Jack Russell, John Kane, Ed Remitz, Bill Workman and Jon Mays. Also present, Executive Director Darryl Compton. Absent: Justin Nyberg, Dave Price and Aimee Lewis.

New business:

• Susan Caldwell memorial. The board decided to honor a woman in print photojournalism with a PPC scholarship in memory of Examiner/Independent photographer Susan Caldwell, who was killed in a recent car crash. The Press Club will assume the responsibility of “filling out” the fund for the scholarship, if necessary, to bring it up to $500 after SFBAPPA has the first $500 for its scholarship. The club also agreed to invite Susan’s family to the award dinner this year and to pay for it.

• Sunshine Week. Carter mentioned Sunshine Week sponsored by the American Society of Newspaper Editors is coming March 13 to March 19. The society is asking editors to do what they can to promote the week, which seeks to promote the importance of government access.

• High school journalism contest. The board agreed to exclude magazines from the general excellence category.

Treasurer’s report:

• The treasury was reported by Compton to be sound. Workman made a motion to approve the report and Russell seconded the motion which passed unanimously.

Old business:

What does published mean? The board decided a PPC member who lives in the Bay Area can submit work that appeared in a publication outside of the area.

New business:

• Status report on Board member Nyberg. It was reported that Nyberg no longer is a full-time employee at the Examiner.

• College scholarship. Deadline is April 1.

• New awards. Remitz displayed a new type of physical award to be given out. Compton said he will call the company to see if the PPC will use it. The awards are approximately $10 each and could save the board money.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:06 p.m.

Next meeting is scheduled for March 9 at 6:15 p.m.

Minutes submitted by secretary Jon Mays.

< Back to All News