< Back to All News

April 2005 Press Club board minutes

Minutes of the April 20 meeting of the Board of Directors

Present: Michelle Carter, John Kane, Jack Russell, Darryl Compton, Dave Price, Jon Mays, Bill Workman.

Absent: Aimee Lewis, Ed Remitz

President Micki Carter called the meeting to order at 6:20 p.m.

Minutes of the previous meeting and the treasurer’s report were approved.

Old business:

28th Annual Awards Competition. It was noted that the contest entries were being judged by six different clubs across the country. The contest results will return May 1 and the invitations will be mailed out soon after, Compton reported.

High school contest judging. Entries are up and the judging is to completed April 25.

Susan Caldwell memorial scholarship. It was decided that the Press Club will give the winner $500.

SAMCAR scholarship. There is a question about the $1,500 attached to the scholarship because of instability at SAMCAR. Carter will call representative for more details.

New business:

Jim Monroe’s widow wants a newsletter sent to her. The board agreed to it.

There was some discussion of having some presentation or ceremony at the annual awards banquet for a number of local journalists who died this year.

The next newsletter will come out the second week of May, Carter reported. Carter also said the award banquet arrangements were once again organized by Lewis and there will be no increase in the rate.

The meeting was adjourned at 7 p.m.

Minutes submitted by secretary Jon Mays.

< Back to All News