< Back to All News

November 2005 Press Club board minutes

Minutes of the Nov. 16 meeting of the Peninsula Press Club Board of Directors.

Meeting was brought to order at 6:20 p.m. by Board President Micki Carter.

Carter and board members Jack Russell, Peter Cleaveland, Ed Remitz, John Kane and Jon Mays were present. Executive Director Darryl Compton arrived shortly after the meeting began and board member Jamie Casini arrived at 6:50 p.m.

The minutes of the October meeting were approved.

Treasury report: Compton reported $28,000 in the bank and that pennies in interest was earned. He also reported receiving a check from San Francisco State University for scholarship award winner Sara Wolfram.

Old Business:

There was no discussion on communication with the defunct San Francisco Press Club.

Newsletter deadline of Nov. 17 was announced.

Limited discussion on 2006 meeting dates. No changes discussed.

New Business:

It was decided that the following people would be placed on the ballot: Vice president, Jack Russell; Treasurer, Ed Remitz; Secretary, Jon Mays. Board members: Dave Price, Aimee Lewis Strain, Jamie Casini, Peter Cleaveland and John Kane. Carter will move into a new role as immediate past president. There is an opening for president and the board left it up to the members not present to announce if they have any inclination to be placed on the ballot for president.

A raise for Compton and roster changes were not discussed and will be brought up by the next meeting.

It was agreed that board members would propose any changes to the newspaper contest rules by e-mail. If consensus cannot be reached by e-mail, then it will be discussed at a special meeting Dec. 5 before the Christmas Party and annual meeting. Mays suggested future discussions on rule changes begin earlier in the year to avoid any possible conflict.

Russell said he will continue to serve as scholarship chair.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:10 p.m. Minutes submitted by secretary Jon Mays.

< Back to All News