KNTV NBC11 led all Bay Area TV stations in the Associated Press Mark Twain Awards competition, winning 4 trophies including best videographer (Dean Smith) and best anchor (Lisa Kim). Kim tied in the best anchor category with KDTV Univision 14’s Maria Leticia Gomez. KGO-TV 7, KICU 36 and KDTV each won 2 awards, and KPIX CBS 5 got 1. Local TV winners included:

  • “Dick Terry Videographer of the Year” — Dean Smith, KNTV
  • Best Anchor or Anchor Team — (Tie) Lisa Kim, KNTV, and Maria Leticia Gomez, KDTV
  • Best Weather — “Early Edition Pinpoint Weather,” Roberta Gonzales, Eric Elliott, KPIX
  • Best Investigative Reporting — “The Body Show,” Dan Noyes, Beth Rimbey, Lynn Friedman, KGO-TV
  • Best Serious Feature — “World Airways: Baby Lift,” Thuy Vu, KGO-TV

  • Best Light Feature, “Milpitas Hum,” Garvin Thomas, Donald Hardy, KNTV
  • Best Videography of a News Feature — “French Laundry,” Jonathan Drum, KNTV
  • Best Sports Videography — “Elsie Allen H.S. Rugby-Road To Nationals,” Alforde M. Joaquin, KICU-TV
  • Best Feature Editing — “Elsie Allen H.S. Rugby-Road To Nationals,” Alforde M. Joaquin, KICU-TV
  • Best Special, “Encuentro En La Bahia,” Valeria Hernandez, Mahelda Rodriguez, Maria Leticia Gomez, Luis Echegoyen, KDTV


Among radio stations, KCBS-AM 740 was the big winner with 5 awards followed by KGO-AM 810 with 2 and one each for KSFO 560 and KQED-FM 88.5. Local radio winners included:

  • Pat Davis Radio Reporter of the Year — Bret Burkhart, KGO-AM
  • Bill Stout Award for Enterprise — “Pot Clubs,” Doug Sovern, KCBS-AM
  • Best Sports Segment — (TIE) Steve Bitker, KCBS-AM, and Steve Grad, KNX Los Angeles
  • Best Investigative Reporting — “Pot Clubs,” Doug Sovern, KCBS-AM
  • Best Special — “Voices of Soldiers,” Mark Williams, Holly Williams, Melanie Morgan and Jay Allen, KFBK-AM, Sacramento and KSFO AM
  • Best Coverage of an Ongoing Story — “Stanley Williams Execution Coverage,” Scott Shafer, Debra Baer, Judy Campbell, Kelly Wilkinson, Sarah Varney and Frank Stoltze, KQED-FM
  • Best Sports Reporting — (TIE), “Bill King,” Steve Bitker, KCBS-AM, and “Off to the Races,” Bret Burkhart, KGO-AM
  • Best Use of Sound – Feature — “Fair Time,” Mike Sugerman, KCBS-AM

All TV and radio stations in California and Nevada were eligible to enter the contest, sponsored by the Associated Press Television and Radio Association of California-Nevada. Here’s the complete list of TV and radio winners.

SF Press Club News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>