< Back to All News

May 2006 Press Club board minutes

Call to order at 6:25 p.m.

Meeting was brought to order by Board President Micki Carter at 6:25 p.m.

Board members Peter Cleaveland, Jon Mays, Jack Russell, Jamie Casini and Executive Director Darryl Compton were present.

Board members Ed Remitz, Aimee Lewis Strain, John Kane and Dave Price were absent.

The minutes of the April meeting were approved.

The treasurer’s report was approved. Compton reported lots of money coming in and not a lot of money going out — yet.

Old business

Professional journalism contest.

It was decided that the club could save some money by not mailing out invitations to the annual professional journalism contest. Instead, a notice will be sent out in the newsletter with a coupon of sorts to be mailed back if need be.

Bench Bar media. Nothing new to report.

New business

Resignation of John Kane. The board decided not to accept the resignation of John Kane since he is the immediate past president and an automatic member of the board. The refusal is also in hopes that Kane will soon be on the mend and on his way back to the board. The soonest a vacancy might have to filled is in December.

Newsletter deadline is Friday and it will be sent out soon after.

Scholarship competition. Russell reports judging is under way and calls to winners will be made this week.

High school contest. Successfully organized and completed by President Carter.

June 1 evening of excellence. Carter said she will write the script as long as someone agreed to make some contacts with a guest speaker. Mays agreed to contact A.C. Thompson.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:55 p.m.

Minutes submitted by secretary Jon Mays.

< Back to All News