< Back to All News

Winners announced in high school contest

The Eastside Panther, the student newspaper at Eastside College Preparatory School in East Palo Alto, took first-place honors in General Excellence and a total of 12 awards in the 2005-2006 High School Journalism Awards Competition.

The contest is sponsored by the Peninsula Press Club, Hillsdale Shopping Center and the journalism program at Notre Dame de Namur University in Belmont. Awards were presented at a reception May 2 in Ralston Hall at NDNU.

Nine publications from eight high schools from San Francisco to Los Altos offered more than 200 entries from 95 students for the competition which covered April 1, 2005, through March 31, 2006. Members of the Press Club served as judges for the contest.

A certificate of excellence also was presented to the staff of the Verde News Magazine at Palo Alto High School in recognition of their work, despite their having no competition among news magazines at other local high schools.

Here’s a complete list of the winners:

First: Eastside Panther, Eastside College Preparatory School;
Second: Burlingame B, Burlingame High School;
Honorable Mention: Jefferson Tom-Tom, Jefferson High School;
Special Recognition: Palo Alto High School, Verde News Magazine

First: Jen Wantuch, Burlingame B;
Second: Janice Hwang, Burlingame B;
Honorable Mention: Marianna Tishchenko, Lowell High School, San Francisco.

First: Carey Schwartz, Paly Voice, Palo Alto High School, Palo Alto;
Second: Tiffany Chan, Mills Thunderbolt, Mills High School, Millbrae;
Honorable Mention: Carey Schwartz, Paly Voice.

First: Norma Jaimez, Eastside Panther;
Second: Luis A. Torres and Rizwana Khan, Eastside Panther;
Honorable Mention: Claire Jun, Mills Thunderbolt;
Honorable Mention: Diego Garcia, Eastside Panther.

First: James Xie and Tara Donohoe, Mills Thunderbolt;
Second: Lorraine Cancio and Kristine Radoc, Jefferson Tom Tom, Jefferson High School, Daly City;
Honorable Mention: Melody Cheung, Mills Thunderbolt;

First: Chrissy Hu, Paly Voice;
Second: Chelsea McLaughlin, Eastside Panther;
Honorable Mention: Shantall Vera, Jefferson Tom-Tom.

First: Maira Navarro, Eastside Panther;
Second: Ruby Farias, Eastside Panther;
Honorable Mention: Carissa Caryotakis, Paly Voice;
Honorable Mention: Diego Garcia, Eastside Panther.

First: Nathan Lui, Paly Voice,
Second: Luis Torres, Eastside Panther;
Honorable Mention: Rachel Altmaier, Panther Prints, Pinewood School, Los Altos.

First: Nick Branch, Jefferson Tom Tom;
Second: Rachel Altmaier, Panther Prints;
Honorable Mention: Jannette Angulo, Eastside Panther.

First: Rizwana Khan, Eastside Panther;
Second: Jose Ibarra, Eastside Panther;
Honorable Mention: Rachel Altmaier, Panther Prints.

Now is the time to start thinking about the 2007 PPC High School Journalism Competition. Entries will be due March 31, 2007.

< Back to All News