< Back to All News

Greater Bay Area Journalism Awards

Bay Area print journalists, photographers, radio and television personnel and public relations professionals were presented with 226 awards of excellence in 90 categories at the Peninsula Press Club’s 29th annual Greater Bay Area Journalism Awards dinner in Foster City tonight (June 1).

The winners were selected from 578 entries from media professionals in the 11 Greater Bay Area counties. Competition was for work done in 2005. Entries were judged by the Florida Press Club, Milwaukee Press Club, the Press Club of Cleveland, and the Press Club of Southeast Texas. The photography staff of the Oregonian, Portland, Ore., judged the photo entries coordinated by Paul Sakuma of the Associated Press.

Also, $3,600 in scholarships were presented. Two $1,500 scholarships in the name of the late San Francisco Chronicle columnist Herb Caen were awarded to Josh Hoffman, Burlingame High School, and Alexis Terrazas, College of San Mateo. A one time $600 scholarship in the name of the late Peninsula sportswriter Merv Harris was awarded to Emmanuel Padilla, Jefferson High School, Daly City.

San Francisco Chronicle reporter Kevin Fagan presented a short keynote on his award-winning “Shame on the City” series.

Here is the complete list of awards.

How different news organizations reported the awards: NBC11, Marin Independent Journal, Mercury News, Palo Alto Weekly, San Mateo County Times, San Mateo Daily Journal.

< Back to All News