Lance Williams and Mark Fainaru-Wada (pictured) are winners of the “Destinguished Service to the First Amendment” award from the Scripps Howard Foundation. They faced 18 months in prison for contempt of court, a sentence the Chronicle vigorously fought until the source, a lawyer in the case, recently and voluntarily stepped forward. They’ll share a $10,000 prize. John Diaz, Pati Poblete and Caille Millner of the Chronicle will also receive $10,000 from the foundation and the Walker Stone award for a series of editorials exposing a failed foster care system. (Photo credit: Brad Mangin, Sports Illustrated)

SF Press Club News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>