Bay Area print journalists, photographers, radio and television personnel and public relations professionals were presented with 232 awards of excellence in 97 categories at the Peninsula Press Club’s 30th annual Greater Bay Area Journalism Awards dinner in Foster City Saturday night (June 2, 2007).

Here is a complete list of the winners.

The winners were selected from 522 entries from media professionals in the 11 Greater Bay Area counties. Competition was for work done in 2006. Entries were judged by the Florida Press Club, Milwaukee Press Club, the Press Club of Cleveland, San Diego Press Club and the Press Club of Southeast Texas. The photography staff of the Orange County Register judged the photo entries coordinated by Paul Sakuma of The Associated Press.

The San Jose Mercury News took home the most awards (hope the new editor is reading this!). Posing with the awards were, from left, Nerissa Pacio, Brad Kava, Mike Antonucci and Rich Ramirez.

The San Mateo Daily Journal staff was a big winner in this year’s contest for papers under 75,000 circulation.

Tim Simmers of the San Mateo County Times scored a grand slam home run by winning a first, second and honorable mention in the business story category.

Among radio stations, KCBS All News 740 was the champion, taking home this stack awards. Holly Quan, right, won in the Special Program category.

Patty and Paul Sakuma were on hand Saturday night. Paul, who is with the AP, received three awards.

Brad Kava of the Mercury News was honored in the Serious Feature Story category with a piece headlined “Road Life Wearies Harmonica Virtuoso.”

Jamie Casini and Eric White of the Palo Alto Daily News shared the award for best headline for this gem “Dip in CHiPs.”

Jay Thorwaldson, editor of the Palo Alto Weekly, picks up one of the many awards his paper won.

Dick Sparrer of the Silicon Valley Newspaper Group wears many hats. He earned six awards — for editorial, column, sports column, sports story, game story and headline. Is there anything in the newsroom this guy doesn’t do?

Al Bullock, former KGO-TV ABC7 news photographer, can’t put the camera down.

Kristin Bender of the Oakland Tribune, right, won the first place award for serious news feature for her story titled “Murder and Redemption.”

Justin DeFreitas of the Berkeley Daily Planet had the audience laughing out loud when they saw his editorial cartoons. The Planet won six awards this year.

Julia Scott of the San Mateo County Times seems to be in disbelief after winning four awards.

Jay Thorwaldson, editor of the Palo Alto Weekly, and Dave Price, formerly of the Palo Alto Daily News, used to be rivals but still are friends.

Two $1,500 scholarships in the name of the late San Francisco Chronicle columnist Herb Caen were awarded this year. One went to Hannah Hoffman, center, of Burlingame High School. The other went to Shaminder Dulai of San Jose State University (not pictured).
Photos above by Paul Sakuma, Micki Carter and Dave Price.
SF Press Club News


  1. Dear Curious … The Chronicle decided that, as a company, it would not be submitting entries this year. No reason was given to the Press Club. However, individual Chronicle employees were free to submit their own work individually. As a result, the Chronicle won two awards.

    Regarding your other question, I will ask those who actually run the contest about that and post a response in the next day or two. … Dave Price, Press Club webmaster

  2. This is disgusting, would you stop giving yourselves so many awards every year for meaningless reasons? You are all unworthy of praise, I suppose this is why you give yourselves awards to validate your convoluted existences as ineffective journalists and minions for the yellow press.

  3. I’m confused by the results. I noticed SF Weekly and the San Francisco Bay Guardian (direct competitors) were classified in different categories. (The former won awards as a non-weekly newspaper, the latter won awards as a magazine.)

    I also noticed the San Francisco Chronicle is completley missing from the list of winners. Not even a 2nd place or honorable mention. Any reason why? Did the paper decline to enter for some reason? Was it excluded from the contest?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>