KPIX CBS5 landed 12 Associated Press Television-Radio Association (APTRA) awards over the weekend, the most of any TV station in the contest’s seven-state territory, while KGO 810 picked up nine first place trophies, more than any other radio station.

Bret Burkhart (left) earned five of KGO’s nine awards including his third consecutive Reporter of the Year award. Other winners at NewsTalk 810 were Production Manager Mike Amatori for Best News Promo and Rich Walcoff for Best Sports Segment. Here’s KGO’s news release.

Channel 5’s first-place prizes included:

    • Best 30-Minute Newscast — 11 p.m., Brian Neal, Dana King, Ken Bastida and Dan Rosenheim

    • Best Anchor or Anchor Team — Allen Martin and Thuy Vu for their coverage of the tiger escape at the SF zoo

    • Best Sports Segment — Dennis O’Donnell and Anthony Catchatoorian

    • Best Weathercast Segment — “Roberta Gonzales Pinpoint Forecast,” Roberta Gonzales and Eric Elliott

    • Best Serious Feature — “Behind The Green Box,” Anna Werner, Abigail Sterling, Craig Franklin, Gerard Watson and Jeff Harris

Werner (right) also won the Chris Harris Reporter of the Year award. Here’s a list of all of Channel 5’s winners.

SF Press Club News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>