The Bay Area Radio Hall of Fame plans this year to induct 17 local broadcasting legends into its Hal of Fame. More than 6,000 votes were cast online and in person during the open balloting period, which ended on July 1. The latest group of honorees — the third to be enshrined — will be inducted during a public ceremony on October 1 in Berkeley. Here’s a link to the press release. The 17 inductees are:

    • Rosie Allen, KGO-AM afternoon news co-anchor.

    • Alex Bennett, former morning radio host at KMEL, KQAK “The Quake and KITS “Live 105.”

    • Red Blanchard, who bridged the gap between radio’s network-oriented “golden age” and the disc jockey-driven “modern era” in the 1950s with a zany show before a live audience on KCBS.

    • Renel Brooks-Moon, Kiss FM morning host and stadium voice of the Giants.

    • Bob Fouts, voice of the 49ers in the 1950s (and father of NFL Hall of Fame quarterback Dan Fouts, who also went into broadcasting after his athletic career).

    • Bill Gavin, pioneering disc jockey and creator of the tipship The Gavin Report.

    • Hap Harper, the world’s first airborne traffic reporter.

    • Mikel Hunter Herrington, the orginal “Captain Mikey,” Top 40 disc jockey at KLIV, pioneer of album oriented rock format at KOME.

    • Russ Hodges, Giants broadcaster best known for his legendary call “The Giants win the pennant! The Giants win the pennant!”

    • Don Klein, sportscaster, KCBS.

    • Mickey Luckoff, KGO-AM president and general manager since 1972.

    • Dude Martin, leader of a western band who had music shows on KLX, KYA, KSFO and KGO; was an early KGO-TV star.

    • Terry McGovern, voice actor and coach

    • Doug Pledger, morning man, advertising pitchman and later owner of KOFY-AM 1050 in San Mateo.

    • Dave Sholin, KFRC-AM music director in the 1960s, now morning host at KFRC-FM.

    • Roy Storey, sportscaster in 1950s, 60s and 70s, one of the first sports-talk hosts.

    • Russ “The Moose” Syracuse, disc jockey at KYA, KFRC, KSFO and KNBR.

SF Press Club News,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>