KGO-AM won six regional Edward R. Murrow awards from the Radio Television News Director’s Association and KCBS won four. The regional winners will now be judged on a national level.

KGO won awards for breaking news, sports reporting, use of sound, hard news feature, writing and feature reporting. The breaking news award, for coverage of fires in Northern California on June 12, 2008, was earned by Rosie Allen, Greg Jarrett, Laura Podolak, Claudia Lamb, Rob Artigo, Greg Edmonds and Bret Burkhart. Burkhard is credited with winning the other five awards. KGO-AM’s Web page includes audio links to the award-winning entries.

KCBS won in the categories of general excellence, continuing coverage (gay marriage), news documentary (frantic for food) and newscast.

Among Bay Area TV stations, KPIX won in the categories of overall excellence and news series (“Assignment Africa”), KGO-TV for investigative reporting (Muni tapes) and KTVU for videography (“A Real Car”).

Bay Area Media News, , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>