< Back to All News

Jennings receives highest honor at Emmys

CBS 5 won more Emmys than any other station at the 38th Annual Northern California Area Emmy awards presentation but KGO-TV ABC7 anchor Cheryl Jennings (right) received the Governors’ Award, the highest honor a regional chapter of the Emmys can bestow. It is a lifetime achievement award for service to the community and television industry.

Three station awards were presented at Saturday night’s event at the Palace Hotel. Overall Excellence went to KGO ABC 7. KGO ABC 7 also received the Community Service Award for “End Hunger Now.” News Excellence was awarded to KPIX CBS 5, “CBS 5 Eyewitness News.” CBS 5 won more Emmys than any other station with 13.

The most honored individuals were Anna Werner, reporter, KPIX CBS 5, San Francisco and Christian Anguiano, Photographer/Editor, KUVS Univision 21, Sacramento with four statuettes each.

Receiving three trophies were: Robert Genolio and Abby Sterling, KPIX CBS 5, Pamela Diaz and Santiago Lucero, KUVS Univision 19, Sacramento.

A total of 215 Emmy statues were awarded to 180 individuals.

< Back to All News