The Bay Area Radio Museum & Hall of Fame today announced the members of its Class of 2009. The 12 honorees include two current morning men (KSFO’s Lee Rodgers and KGO’s Ed Baxter), as well as two popular local sportscasters (Hank Greenwald and Joe Starkey) and the world’s first broadcasting station, KCBS (740 AM and 106.9 FM).

Rodgers, a veteran talk-show host on both KGO-AM and KSFO, received the highest overall number of votes in the public balloting. He has been the lead morning host on Hot Talk KSFO’s morning program since 1995.

Baxter leads a group of legendary KGO voices, which also includes retired morning news co-anchor Ted Wygant, pioneering traffic reporter Lu Hurley, and current KGO production superstar Mike Amatori.

In the sportscasting category, Greenwald and Starkey join a stellar group of previous BARHOF inductees that includes Lon Simmons, Bill King, Bob Fouts and Don Klein. Greenwald was the voice of the Giants on radio from 1979 through 1986, and again from 1989 until 1996.

Starkey has been the play-by-play voice of the UC Golden Bears since 1975, and broadcast the 49ers on radio from 1989 through 2008. He began his career as radio voice of the NHL’s California Golden Seals in 1972.

The Hall of Fame’s first Legendary Station award will be presented to San Francisco’s All News KCBS, which is celebrating its centennial this year. KCBS traces its roots back to 1909, when the station was founded by Charles D. Herrold in San Jose.

The Class of 2009 will be celebrated at a gala luncheon on Tuesday, Sept. 29, at the Doubletree Executive Meeting Center on the Berkeley Marina. For more information and reservations, please see

Bay Area Media News


  1. Thanks Spocko. I now have a good read as to why Lee Rodgers (now broadcasting from Tucson) should accorded such honors. Welcome aboard Lee.

  2. When I read that Lee Rodgers was going to be in the Bay Area Radio Museum & Hall of Fame I was a bit puzzled, but when I looked at the list of the members I saw that it was filled by a lot of people who probably knew of him at KGO. The power of early impressions is very strong and people don't want to believe that someone could become dark and mean as they age.

    We are hesitant to call out anyone as a racist and bigot if it is socially acceptable racism or bigotry. Saying overtly racist things about blacks is no longer acceptable. Saying overtly bigoted things toward Jews is not something a mainstream public person will say. However, you CAN still say overtly racist things about people from the Middle East and you can say overtly bigoted things about Muslims.

    Would you honor someone who called for the massacre of everyone in the nation of Israel?
    Then why honor someone calling for the massacre of everyone in Iraq?
    (Lee Rodger's audio)
    Would you give a trophy to someone who said blacks should be hanging from lamp posts?
    How big is the trophy for the person who said liberals should hang from lamp posts?
    (Lee Rodger's audio)
    Would you toast someone suggesting millions of Christians be killed?
    What is your toast to the person suggesting millions of Muslims be killed?
    (Lee Rodger's audio)

    Some people who hear vicious comments from a radio host think, "It's just an act," maybe you knew the guy personally years ago and he wasn't vicious then. Maybe you have the brain of a liberal; you believe that people are good. So you excuse them. Otherwise you would have to reevaluate your impression of this person. But even if you KNOW that it's all an act and the person is really nice to his dog, they are STILL saying these things and the rest of us can only judge them on their exact words.

    From more exact quotes from Lee Rodgers Rodger's audio clips at Spocko's Brain

  3. Joe Starkey is an abomination as a play-by-play broadcaster, and everybody knows he was basically given the choice to retire or be fired by the 49ers. I've been listening to 49er games on the radio since the 1970's and he was far and away the worst professional play-by-play guy I've ever heard. There wasn't a game when he didn't flub down and distance information a half dozen times, or whether a ball was caught or dropped, a fumble was recovered or not, and on and on. Listening to a Starkey-called game required so much patience because he created so much confusion with his incompetence. And the corn-ball expressions! "What a bonanza!" What does that even mean? And how much impact does it have if you say it 30 times a game? He was the worst.

  4. Nowhere is self adulation given freer reign than in media circles. News organizatiins give themselves awards every other week. Now we have the Museum of Excessively Large Egos in which to prance about. You'd think a dose of humility would stand out. But this is the media and humility isn't the point.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>