< Back to All News

June 2010 Press Club board minutes

June 7, 2010 — Board Room, San Mateo Daily Journal

Present: Jon Mays, Micki Carter, Dave Price, Melissa McRobbie, Darryl Compton, Peter Cleaveland, Ed Remitz, Marshall Wilson, Jamie White. Absent: Antonia Ehlers and Kristy Blackburn

The meeting was called to order at 6:40 p.m.

Minutes of April were approved as read. There was no May meeting.

Treasurer’s Report
Report was approved as read. Darryl noted that the current membership totaled 128.

Evening of Excellence
Jeanne Carstenson, the managing editor of Bay Citizen, will be the guest speaker at the Evening of Excellence Awards Banquet June 19 at the Crowne Plaza in Foster City. Marshall and Jack will handle the scholarships. By email the board approved awarding four $1,500 scholarships this year.
Darryl also reminded the group that no wine could be brought in for the banquet.

High School Journalism Contest
Micki reported that El Camino High School’s Colt Quarterly won the General Excellence award this year at a very successful reception April 21 at Ralston Hall at Notre Dame de Namur University in Belmont. Hillsdale Shopping Center continues to be a major sponsor.

High School Journalism Boot Camp
Ed will check dates for the Boot Camp at CSM. A Friday in early October is the first choice. Dave Price suggested using KCSM-TV studios for the large gathering with a speaker.

Professional development workshop
A roundtable discusson on how to reinvent yourself as a journalist in the current job market. Ray Ratto, Brian Murphy and Mike Sugerman were suggested as possible speakrs. A midweek evening session in November is a good time.

Summer picnic
It will be Sept. 19 from 2-4 p.m. at Micki Carter’s house, 2303 Wooster Ave., Belmont CA 94002.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:30 p.m.
Respectfully submitted, Micki Carter, Secretary

< Back to All News