< Back to All News

Staff of the East Bay Times wins Pulitzer Prize for Ghost Ship fire coverage

East Bay Times reporters, from left, Matthias
Gafni, Thomas Peele, Harry Harris, Erin Baldassari and David Debolt
react as they learn of their Pulitzer Prize win for breaking news at
their office in Oakland. Photo by Jane Tyska/Bay Area News Group.

The staff of the East Bay Times today won the Pulitzer Prize for Breaking News for coverage of the Ghost Ship warehouse fire in December. The Pulitzer committee cited the newspaper’s “relentless coverage … and for reporting after the tragedy that exposed
the city’s failure to take actions that might have prevented it.”

Here’s a link to the award announcement, and it has links to the winning stories.

While no individual reporters were named in the announcement, the staffers whose names were on the stories and photos were: Erin Baldassari, Ray Chavez, Aric Crabb, Aaron R. Davis, David Debolt, Tammerlin Drummond, Malaika Fraley, Matthias Gafni, Harry Harris, Angela Hill, Rick Hurd, Karl Mondon, Katy Murphy, Laura A. Oda, Pai, Thomas Peele, Sam Richards, Robert Salonga, Tatiana Sanchez, Tracy Seipel, Dai Sugano and Julia Prodis Sulek. (Email us if we’ve left anyone off.)

Here’s the East Bay Times coverage of the award.

< Back to All News